School year and goals

Your school-year dates affect reports and dashboards. Usage recommendations are calculated from the school-year start date to the school-year end date.

  1. Click Settings.
  2. Click School Year/Goals.
  3. Enter the date your students will begin using Waterford in the Start Date field.
  4. Enter the date your students will stop using Waterford in the End Date field.
  5. Click Save Changes.

Usage goals are by default set to the Waterford recommendation of 5 days per week and 15 or 30 minutes per day. However, you can set custom usage goals according to your own goals and needs.

To set your usage goals:

  1. Click Settings.
  2. Click School Year/Goals.
  3. Double check that your school year dates are correct and update if necessary.
  4. Select the program for which you want to modify goals.
  5. Enter the minutes per day and days per week for each grade level. Remember that engagement will be measured according to the goals you set here. 
    If you do not want to specify a usage goal, leave the default value in this field.
  6. Select close and then save.

Your usage goal progress is shown in your progress reports and dashboards. Usage goals are a percentage of Waterford’s usage recommendations. For example, if you put 80 in the Usage Goal field, this represents using courses 80% of Waterford’s recommended usage.

Sync data with Clever

These next steps will be completed in the Clever dashboard and in Waterford Manager.

permissions original

  1. Log in to Clever.
  2. In the left-hand menu, under Applications, click Waterford.
  3. Click Share Entire District or Share by School, which is ever is most appropriate.
  4. Select the classes or schools your want to sync.
    Only select schools or classes where every student is in grades pre-K through 2nd and assigned to either Waterford Early Learning or SmartStart PreK.
  5. Click Save Changes.
  6. Return to Waterford Manager and log in as an administrator.
  7. Click Settings.
  8. Click Clever.
    View the status of the sync on this page. You may need to wait several minutes for the sync to complete, depending on the amount of data.

wel-schedule-sync

Things to keep in mind:

  • Click Synchronize to manually trigger a sync.
  • To schedule an automated sync, check the box next to Enable scheduled synchronization.
    The time options only appear once that box is checked. Select the hour and either AM or PM.
  • Click Refresh to check the status of the current sync.
  • Click Test Sync to see how many records will update on the next sync.
  • Check Sync emails to add parent emails to student records.
    This is only necessary if Home Access is enabled.
  • If a sync fails, click the number under Failed at last update for more information.

 

Media servers

For most cloud users, your media server is managed by Waterford. If you have a NAS device or other alternative setup, you may need to edit the media server location.

  1. Login as an administrator.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Media Servers.
    By default, media server locations are inherited. This means a district’s media server location will also be the location for every school and class in that district, unless it is changed in the table.
  4. To change the media server location, click the text in the table under Media Server Location.
    Enter media server locations as http://[address] using an IP or URL address.
  5. Make changes.
  6. Click Save.

Remove associations

Use Remove association to prepare for the new school year. This feature removes class and student associations to reflect new teacher and student assignments, releases licenses from non-returning students, and resets the school year for reporting purposes.

This tool works best when used with the Import Students tool.

To reset the school year:

  1. Log in as an administrator.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Remove association. This does several things:
    • Increases school year date by one year.
    • Moves all students to Unassigned students.
    • Removes course licenses from all students.
    • Disassociates teachers with classes. School associations remain.
    • Deletes all classes.
    • Sends a notification email to all staff accounts.
    • Update your import file to reflect new class assignments.
  4. Update your import file to reflect new class assignments.
  5. Import the file.
  6. Assign courses to students.
    When you reassign a course, the students begin where they left off when the course was unassigned.

    Students that are no longer in classes will remain in the Unassigned students bin, and their course licenses are free for a new student to use.
  7. Assign teachers to new classes, if desired.
    This step is optional. Use Staff Import to complete this task.

 

Important things to keep in mind:

  • Course licenses and reports require an accurate school year date to work properly. Verify that the updated school year is correct.
  • Teacher accounts created before the August 4, 2014 update may not have an email address. In order for teachers to be notified of a school year reset, please add emails to existing teacher accounts.
  • The school year reset does not remove teacher licenses for Classroom Advantage.

Unassign licenses

If you have a limited number of licenses and need to free some up for other students, you can remove associations (unassign all student licenses), remove license reservations or unassign a student’s course.

 

Remove Associations

Only remove associations if you want to completely reset your account. In addition to unassigning all licenses, this action also removes school and class assignments. This is typically only done at the end or beginning of a school year. Go to the remove associations section to learn more.

 

Remove License Reservations

If you have more licenses reserved for schools than are currently in use, you can simply change that number:

  1. Click Settings.
  2. Click Licenses.
  3. Edit the number under Assigned.
    The number cannot be smaller than the In Use number.
  4. Click Save.
    You may need to click outside of the edited text box for the Save button to activate.

 

Unassign Courses

To unassign a student’s course:

  1. Click Students.
  2. Select the student in the left-hand menu.
  3. Under the student’s name, click Courses.
    students-courses
  4. Uncheck the box next to the course you wish to unassign.
  5. Click Save.
    A warning box will remind you that you can only unassign a student 3 times. Once you reach this limit, that student can no longer have that course reassigned. Click OK to proceed.

A new license will be available. You can go to the licenses table to verify.

Manage student licenses

The Licenses page allows you to reserve a number of licenses to specific schools.

  • Reserving licenses to schools is optional.
  • Even if you reserve licenses to a school, you still must assign an individual license to a teacher or student before the product can be used.

To understand the licenses table, use these tables from a demo school. You can that the total licenses for this district is 350. (Not all schools are listed in the screenshot.) In the first table, there are 194 Unassigned Licenses.

table1

 

I reserved 50 licenses for New York BOCES school. You can see that the number of Unassigned Licenses is now 144.

table 2

 

Example Scenarios

  • If a school has zero assigned licenses, but there are available Unassigned Licenses, a teacher in that school can assign a course to a student.
  • If all licenses are reserved, Unassigned Licenses will be zero. In this situation, a teacher in a school with no reserved licenses will not be able to assign a course to a student. This is true even if other schools in the district are not actively using all of their Assigned licenses.

Reading the Licenses Table

  • Assigned represents reserved licenses and in use licenses. If a school is not using all of their Assigned licenses, the In Use number will be smaller than the Assigned number.
  • Once a course is assigned to a student, this table updates automatically: the In Use number and the Assigned number go up by 1, and the Unassigned Licenses number goes down by 1.
  • In Use will never be smaller than the Assigned number.